image

Hello and Welcome to Mai Holistic Life.

I have progressively incorporated more & more healthy foods to my “diet”. I am not fond of this word, diet, as it conjours up the idea of calorie counting, and closely monitoring food intake, which is an unattainable idea for most of us. I, as a regular human, with a regular life, want to eat beautiful, tasty foods. I believed a healthy food regime required removing everything I loved from that regime!!

What I have now come to realise is that is absolutely not the case!
At first I found I could purchase many healthy brand pre-made meals and treats, but found no massive difference in my health, at all!
I started really reading the ingredients, and noticed that even some of the most natural products still require preservation of sorts, and therefore have unnecessary ingredients nutrition wise, they are solely to provide a longer time frame within which you can consume. This sounds like a good thing, but from growing & picking foods, creating meals from scratch, I really see that real, genuine food, only lasts 2-5 days after picking, and 2-4 days after cooking!

Having taken note of the ingredients, I started making everything myself, from scratch. And wow what a difference! My energy levels are much higher, my mood is much better,and my daily productivity is much higher also. That’s all it took to feel well, to make 99% of my food from scratch. The one percent, that’s the occasional, indulgent, unhealthy, take away, because as I say, I’m human 😉

Along the way, one of my healthy eating friends, the beautiful Emma K, put me on to an amazing cookie recipe. I enjoy the occasional bake, nothing too complex, and not too often as I still feel a bit guilty as so much sugar goes into baking! (Or so I thought…) Most baking ingredients have no functions other than pure, unadulterated Yumminess. This cookie recipe is different!
I cant recall the specific site my friend found this recipe, as actually quite a few sites have their own variations. Even still, all the recipes I found seemed to have really large quantities of sweeteners that we found unnecessary. Items like baking soda are not needed either, we found accidentally by simply forgetting to put it in one time!!

Through trial and error, we have come to our own version of this super, protein filled chocolate chip peanut butter cookie, which is unbelievably guilt free, being not only scrumptious but also jam packed with Goodness!

This recipe is impossibly simple, which is always a winner with me 🙂 Being high in protein, it is an excellent workout or work snack, providing much needed energy. They are my go to food during Musical Theatre months, as the long dance rehearsals really take it out of me &
these cookies keep me going!

Here it is:

**********

Scrumptious Choc Chip Peanut Butter Cookies!!

Ingredients: (Makes 12 Large or 24 small cookies)

•1 tin chickpeas (400g)

•3/4 of a cup of peanut butter.

•1/2 cup of real mayple syrup.

•Half cup choc chips.(We use 40/50% chocs, which are sweeter than darker choc. But the darker the choc is the more antioxidants!)

•2 Vanilla pods(or 2 tsp vanilla extract)

•Pinch salt.

Directions:

Firstly, in a large mixing bowl, mash the chickpeas. Some recipes direct you to put them in a food processor/blender, but I prefer the end texture when mashed.

Add in the rest of your ingredients and mix really well.

Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper, and scoop the mixture on in either 12 or 24 even blobs.

Oven temps vary, so timing & temp will depend on your oven. My oven is electric and we preheat to 200°. Bake for 25-35mins, until cookies are browned, and crisp at the edges.
Allow to cool on baking tray for 20mins, then move to a wire rack for another 20mins.
Now you’re ready to enjoy!!
The cookies will keep in an airtight tub lined with greaseproof paper for 2-3 days.

I hope you Adore this recipe as much as me and my family.

Until next Time,
Love&Light,
Mai.xxx ❤

Posted from WordPress for Android

