image

Hello and Welcome to Mai Holistic Life. ❤

We all know soups are another excellent way to pack goodness into your daily diet, and up your nutrient intake. I constantly get positive feedback about my soup recipes, and want to share my favourite with you.

I made soup for the first Time about 7 years ago, and it did not go well, at all! I love thick, creamy soups, but my soup back then always turned out more of a Daal consistency, thick and gloopy, and no amount of extra liquid seemed to thin it down! After many attempts, I stepped back and said Never ever again, Fresh soup and I had broken up and it was Packaged, just heat, soups from now on!!!

Well, that was until my husband got a hankering for soup a couple of years ago. We had become quite capable cooks by then, so we took to Google for a recipe. I left the preparation to him, I couldn't bare (what I thought would be) massive effort with only a Yucky end result. The first few attempts were alright, but not tasty, satisfying or wholesome. Until he stumbled upon Jamie Oliver's soup Secrets! His attempts after checking out how Jamie did it were nice, and nice was enough to enthuse me enough to try again, and I must humbly say my soups are not Nice, they are Taste Sensations!!!

I absolutely love Jamie Oliver, as he is a fellow health food advocate, although until we found this approach of soup making we never actively searched his recipes as he is,  what my children refer to as, a "Meat eater!", and we are not :-).

You can find Jamie Oliver's soup recipes here http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/category/dishtype/soup/

The most important thing I learnt From Jamie is that the base of your soup is Integral. Start off with a strong base and your soup will be amazing.
My base differs slightly from Jamie's,and from time to time I add substitutes, depending on what is in my cupboards. Sometimes I have no celery and I just add an extra pinch of salt, or I have no garlic or ginger so I will add a pinch of Garam masala. The base I will share now is how I start every soup I make, and it makes them Delicious! This soup is my version of Carrot and Coriander soup, with all the added goodness of sweet potato.
Enjoy!!!

CARROT & SWEET POTATO SOUP.

Ingredients:

(For the base)

1 large onion
2 cloves garlic
1" ginger
2 celery stalks
pinch of salt & pepper
Tsp cumin powder
Tblsn raw virgin coconut oil
Tsp butter(optional )

And then-

Tsp coriander powder
6-8 large carrots
1 large sweet potato
500ml water
Handful of coriander/cilantro leaves

Directions:

Firstly wash & chop all your fresh ingredients.
In a 2-3 Litre saucepan, melt your coconut oil & butter over a medium heat.
Fry your powders off first for 1 min, making sure not burn them.
Next add the rest of your base ingredients and fry for 1 more min.
Add your carrots & sweet potato, frying in the oil and base ingredients for 4mins. This is "Blanching", flash frying to seal in the flavour.
Turn the heat up slightly and pour in the water.
When the water starts to boil, turn the hob down to a simmer, simmering for 15mins.
Then add cilantro leaves, and blend to serve. If too thick, add a small glass of water and blend again to mix through thoroughly. If too thin, add pouring cream as needed, blending to mix.

This base will make any combination of veg taste divine! This particular recipe is an absolute hit with all my family and friends, and I hope you love it too!

Which soup recipes are your favourite, let me know 🙂

Til next time,
Love&Wellness,
Mai.xxx<3

Posted from WordPress for Android

