FullSizeRender

“”When I first started out on the path to Healthy Eating, I was dubious. Sure, I understood that fresh food is most certainly best, but would I, be able to approach & complete these complicated, arduous recipes?!
I tried out a few recipes, all of which disheartened me further as they didn’t turn out as well as hoped.
I was adamant there must be a way, as so many people seem to be able to manage incorporating healthy recipes into their daily life, so I went back to the drawing board.
One day, I decided to ditch the recipe search, opened the cupboards and came up with this concoction.
I pulled out ingredients that felt right, and surprise surprise, the end result was tasty, nutritious and simple! Simplicity was a welcome added bonus!
My best advice when starting off is to not complicate things. Find or create easy, tasty meals to build up your skills, and with time you will be a magnificent chef in your own home! 🙂
In our house this recipe is simply called “Chickpea Dinner”, it takes 20mins incl. Prep, and serves 4-6., you cant go wrong!
Here it is:

••••Chickpea Dinner••••
Ingredients:

1 can chickpeas/500g soaked chickpeas

1 med sweet potato

1 can aduki/kidney beans

1 handful of spinach

1 large onion

2 cloves of garlic

1 inch of ginger

1/ 2 tsp  coriander/cilantro powder

1/2 tsp cumin powder

1/2 tsp tumeric powder

1/2 tsp garam masala powder

pinch of salt & pepper

1 1/2 tblspn Coconut oil.

Method:

Start by peeling & chopping all your fresh ingredients to your preferred size.

Heat the coconut oil in a shallow frying pan on a medium heat.

Add the spices first, frying until they become paste like.

Next add your onions, garlic & ginger, and let them fry for 1min.

Now, add the rest of the ingredients, stirring to make sure everything is coated with the spicy oil.

Place a lid on top, and allow to fry for 10-15mins on medium teat, stirring occasionally.

Add the spinach for the last 3mins.

And then you are ready to serve!! You can serve this alone or with a portion of brown rice.

I Adore this meal, as it is packed full of proteins and flavour. I hope you enjoy it too & are inspired to keep trying!

Love & wellness,
Mai.xxx <3″”

